2023 player awards handed out at Banbury

2023 player awards handed out at Banbury

23 Aug 2023


As is tradition with Cheshire CCC, the annual awards night was held during the last game of the season - in this instance on the Monday evening of the final championship match with Oxfordshire at Banbury.

A weather-curtailed and frustrating season still managed its fair share of drama and there were several notable performaces.

Chairman Jim Law highlighted the limited opportunities available due to the poor weather, the 'consolidation' of a number of players and the development of players progressing through the County's age group and 2nd XI - the latest protege being Owen Feakes who kept wicket throughout the championship.

Recognition too to all the players that represented the side across the T20, KO Trophy, Showcase and Championship matches.

Awards were handed out for best batter and bowler as well as the most improved player and the Sandy Scrimgeour Trophy presented annually by Elise Scrimgeour in honour of her late husband and former team manager.

There were a number of solid batting performances. After much deliberation Head of Cricket Pete Babage was delighted to recognise the joint efforts of Henry Dobson and Alex Money who both scored hundreds in the championship.

Bowling-wise, Stephen Green took the honour after an outstanding season that saw him take wickets in all formats.

Recognising the progress he's made in the side and his 2023 influence with both bat and ball, Luke Young took the 'most improved' award.

And attending her last match game in a formal role, Elise Scrimgeour was delighted to present Owen Feakes with the Sandy Scrimgeour Trophy.

There were formal thanks from Law to the hard working management committee of Pete Babbage, John Petch, Stuart Anderson and Julie Rafferty as well as to Di Babbage and to scorer Inge Bevers who took up the reigns this year.

And then there was the little matter of Elise Scrimgeour. But that's covered elsewhere....

Batter of the year: Alex Money & Henry Dobson

Bowler of the year: Stephen Green

Most improved player: Luke Young

Sandy Scrimgeour Trophy: Owen Feakes