Pictured : Cheshire manager Sandy Scrimgeour can't wait for this year's MCCA Championship final against Buckinghamshire.
Slough Cricket Club.

By Neil Goulding (Cheshire Press Officer, 07813 859986)

CHESHIRE manager Sandy Scrimgeour has revealed victory in this year's MCCA Championship final would be the "icing on the cake" to a fine season.

And having missed out on a place in the Championship final last season by just one point, it's little surprise Scrimgeour is keen to end this term on a high note.

"We just missed out on getting to the final last year, which was tough to take, so if we do win this year I'll be delighted," said Scrimgeour.

"It's a big occasion for the team, but I think over the last few years we've proven that we are a successful side.

"The players have made the job easier for me because of their commitment and all the hard work they've shown.

"We've shown a lot of consistency in the last few seasons and if we can beat Buckinghamshire it would be a great way to end the season for us.

"I've said this competition [the Championship] is a marathon - and we need one last push to get over the finishing line.

"We've got to pull our socks up and get across the line. There's a good bond amongst the players, it makes it all worthwhile managing this team."

Scrimgeour added: "We lost a lot of games this season because of the weather, so it was a tremendous effort to win the Western Division.

"I'm really proud of all the players, but they all know Bucks will be a good side.

"We don't know much about them because they play in the Eastern Division, but they've obviously done well this season to get to the final."

Cheshire last reached the Championship final in 2007 when they beat Northumberland by an innings and four runs at Jesmond Cricket Club, the only county to win the final with a day and a half to spare.

In 2005 Cheshire shared the title with Suffolk and did the same four years earlier when they shared the title with Lincolnshire.

Cheshire, this season's Western Division winners, also won the title in 1988 and 1985, while Buckinghamshire last won the Championship in 1987.

Bucks, this season's Eastern Division champions, also won the title in 1969, 1952, 1938, 1932, 1925, 1923 and 1922. In 1899 the county shared the title with Northamptonshire.

Cheshire team: David Hurst (Neston), Warren Goodwin (Chester Boughton Hall), Andy Hall (Bramhall, captain), Ben Spendlove (Oulton Park), Nathan Dumelow (Oulton Park), Jason Whittaker (Alderley Edge), Matthew Dawson (Bramhall, wicketkeeper), Daniel Berry (Hyde), Adam Syddall (Bowdon), Rick Moore (Oulton Park), Chris Finegan (Neston). Scorer: Janet Herbert