On the brink.
Showdown at Nantwich as Cheshire strive for title
By Jim Law

Cheshire v Oxfordshire, Unicorns Counties Championship - Western Division,
at Nantwich CC, Sun-Tues, 17, 18, 19 August 2014.

Two wins on the bounce for Cheshire has seen them dramatically leap frog the main title contenders and put themselves in the box seat for the Western Division Championship.

Last week's emphatic victory at Wiltshire means that although technically five sides could triumph, it's more likely a three horse race between Cheshire, Wiltshire and Herefordshire.

And with Cheshire leading by a point, a maximum haul of batting and bowling bonus points plus victory would see the champions retain their title for the first time - something that is very much a rarity in minor counties cricket.

Typically, skipper James Duffy is playing things cool. "We know what we have to do," he said, "And we're really focussed. The last game saw a really impressive all round display with everybody playing their part. We need to continue the momentum and put in again".

Duffy has selection issues due to various fixture clashes but is able to draw upon veteran seamer Jason Whittaker and Hyde's Khalid Sawas who returns after missing much of the season through injury. Cheadle's Dan Brown who debuted against Wales MC at Bowdon also returns to the side.

Cheshire face an Oxfordshire side without a win in the Championship this year although they have performed well in one day cricket, reaching the KO Trophy Final. "At this stage of the season, their league position counts for nothing," Duffy continued. "They'll be keen to break their duck in the last match ahead of their Final."

So all to play for.

The game, at Whitehouse Lane starts each morning at 11.00am. Admission is free and refreshments will be available

Cheshire side v Oxfordshire, Sunday-Tuesday 17, 18, 19 August 2014.
James Duffy (Hyde - capt), Danny Woods (York), Danny Berry (Hyde), Rick Moore (Oulton Park), Pat Roberts (Oulton Park),
Khalid Sawas (Hyde), Jason Whittaker (Hyde), Dan Brown (Cheadle), Jack Williams (Chester Boughton Hall),
Calum Rowe (Alderley Edge), Adam Syddall (Urmston), Matt Ingram (Upton - 12th man)