Cheshire Announce Squad for Cumberland Match
By Derrick Hastings (Hon. Secretary, Cheshire C.C.C.)

Following the cancellation of the match at South Northumberland, James Duffy, Cheshire County Cricket Club’s Captain, is excited at the prospect of the first home match of the season against Cumberland at Christleton on Sunday 6th May.

“The cancellation of the first Trophy match of the season was a great disappointment to everybody in the team,” said Duffy (pictured in action at Colwall last year). “I really felt sorry for the newcomers, Khalid [Sawas], Mark [Rowland] and Scott [Kirwin] who are itching to play for the County Club. Fortunately, they will get their chance in the next game as we are putting out the same side as selected for the Northumberland match.”

“The loss of that game means that it is important that the team pulls out all the stops to win the three remaining matches in the group so that we can not only qualify for the Quarter Final stage but also win the group. If we do that we will be playing at home at Toft in the Quarter Finals.”

“Cumberland, our opponents next week, won their opening match against Herefordshire in one of the very few games to be played last weekend, so we have to beat them to stay in contention. I am confident that we can do it, given the enthusiasm and dedication of all the players.”

“It is good,” he continued, “that we have this gap between games as it allows all the squad to get extra League games under our belts to get match fit for next weekend’s fixture. We have always had strength in depth in the batting department and this year is no exception. When you add the likes of Jonny [Fawcett], who took 5 for 27 in the opening League match last week, to our seasoned bowling attack, you can see that we have a team capable of beating the best.”

The match is being played at Christleton C.C. (CH3 7AH) on Sunday, 6th May and the game is scheduled to start at 11:00 am.

The Cheshire team for Sunday's match is:-

James Duffy (C) - Hyde
Jonny Kettle (W/K) - Nantwich
Danny Berry - Hyde
Lee Dixon - Chester B.H.
Jonny Fawcett - Didsbury
Scott Kirwin - Hyde
Mark Rowland - Chester B.H.
Khalid Sawas - Macclesfield
Adam Syddall - Urmston
Chris Tipper - Hyde
Danny Woods - York
Calum Rowe (12th Man) - Alderley Edge